Proudly Protecting the Communities of Aurora and Newmarket

​Central York Fire Services is a full time Fire Department that provides protection to the Town of Aurora and the Town of Newmarket, in York Region, Ontario, Canada. CYFS serves a combined population of approximately 146,000 and covers an area of 90 square kilometres. The department responds to approximately 5000 emergency calls each year.  CYFS operates out of five fire stations, three in Aurora and two in Newmarket and is made up of the following:
  • ​Senior Officers - 4 staff
  • Four Platoons with 151 Suppression staff 
  • Fire Prevention Division - 7 staff
  • Training Division - 3 staff
  • Administration Division - 5 staff
The Town of Aurora Fire Department and the Town of Newmarket Fire Department were consolidated in January of 2002. The consolidation was a very successful collaboration by the two Towns, management of the fire departments and the two labour representatives - the Aurora Professional Firefighters Association and the Newmarket Professional Firefighters Association. As a consequence of this forward thinking decision to consolidate the fire services resources available, the two Towns have benefited from a professional fire service that is equipped and trained to provide a comprehensive range of emergency services. Central York Fire Services ranks in size among the top twenty fulltime fire services in Ontario.

The Town of Aurora and the Town of Newmarket are protected by a fire service that is able to respond effectively, professionally and competently to a wide range of emergencies and hazards and to provide comprehensive public safety education programs, fire safety inspections and investigations of fire incidents.


​Mailing address:

Central York Fire Services
300 Earl Stewart Drive
Aurora, ON
L4G 7Z5

Tel - 905-895-9222
Fax - 905-895-1900
​Email -